ris knit

4 February 2006

socks.

Filed under: FOs, socks — risknit @ 11:11 pm

I finished my first pair of socks (read: finished the first sock several months ago and just finished the second sock). Regia 4 ply Strato Color, in the red colorway. These socks are hardly perfect. The diameter around my heel (along the short row line) is bigger than most people’s, I think, my foot is pulling the stitches around that part pretty tightly, and the toes are a little baggy. I like the idea of short-row socks (esp the heel) but I think I am going to try them top-down and still do a short row toe, just graft it closed, or try to find a better way to bind off at the top, because just binding off normally VERY loosely looks kind of silly? Also I didn’t even get close to using the entire 100g ball (perhaps I have just enough here to knit some serious baby socks!). So yeah, more socks are up next and maybe I will actually do some math instead of just blindly following a pattern… but overall I’m pretty happy with them and they were definitely a good learning experience.


My new socks and extremely large feet!

Also, I finished the (hideous?) scarf for M, I have to block it. Photos to come.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

