ris knit

2 January 2007

xmas knits

Filed under: baby stuff, FOs — risknit @ 5:42 pm

So busy with Christmas knitting! Which is really depressing… Since I knit exactly two things for people for Christmas. One of those things is this lovely little knit for this cutie.

E’s Christmas Sweater
Yarn: Knitpicks Shine Sport, in Orchid, Butter, and Violet
Needles: Inox size 3, two circs for sleeves, one for the rest
Started: Early December, maybe the 5th or 6th
Finished: About 5pm, Christmas Eve (ha ha ha!)
Pattern: My Own, loosely based on this:

Loosely based because all I followed was the striping sequence. Once I got the pattern home I realized that my gauge wasn’t going to work, and I wasn’t too keen on the hems, or knitting all of the pieces separately. Plus, I wanted set in sleeves, with real armscyes, instead of a square body and no shaping to the sleeves. She is a little lady, afterall. So I knit the body all in one piece, attached two sleeves, and knit the neck trim and the button bands separately. So yeah, I hardly even opened the pattern.

So. Why did this wee sweater take me so damn long? Well firstly, at the start, the Shine was KILLING my hands. I could only knit a couple of rows on the body per day. But it got easier as I went on. I also ripped out one sleeve cap three times before I got it right, reknit the one buttonband about four times, AND managed to do this early on:

Nice huh.

Anyway, it turned out really well and I think she’ll be able to wear it through next winter.

More Christmas gifts to come. And some socks!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

